top of page

Roots Reggae Is Alive And Doing Well With Drew Keys

Updated: Jan 9, 2021


Drew Keys with Common Kings in Paso Robles


Drew Stoch is a multi-talented music producer and keyboardist for Hawaiian based reggae band Common King, he has produced for such artists as Akae Bek, Pressure Busspipe, Nattali Rize, Marlon Asher and much more! I had the opportunity to sit 1 on 1 with Drew to get some inside scoop on how this quarantine is affecting him, favorite venues, and what his first time playing with Common Kings was like! And so much more!

Q: What are the plans for the future?

A: Continuing to tour and grow my production and recording studio, Haze St. Studios.



Q: who’s your favorite artist you’ve worked with?

A: This one is really difficult, I’ve been blessed to work with so many great artists from all over the world, but my favorite would be the “Nurtured Frequency” album I produced alongside Vaughn Benjamin from Akae Beka/Midnite (Rest in Zion).  The energy with Vaughn was just crazy in recording sessions and the time we spent together discussing life ended up being the basis for all the songs on the album.  Vaughn would just sit down with a pen and paper, I’d put on a riddim he had never heard before and within a few minutes he would be ready to record.  Quite amazing to witness that level of mastery and devotion to His Imperial Majesty, so I give thanks for that as well.  Something to strive towards in whatever aspect of life you want to apply it.


Q: What’s it like playing Keys for common kings and how long have you been with them?

A: Been with them since Summer 2018.  It’s one of my favorite gigs I’ve had, shout out to the whole band, crew and management.  Not only is it a blast playing with CK and creating soundscapes for live shows, but the whole team is just really great to be around, family vibes, and everyone strives for perfection and greatness which is so important to the growth of a touring act.

Q: What has been your favorite show/tour?

A: Wow, that’s tough, but a couple stand out.  My very first big show was at the Montreal Reggae Fest playing trombone with Mikey Dread in front of about 10k people.  I was so nervous before hitting the stage and once we started playing it was just pure vibes.  More recently, Glastonbury in UK with Shaggy and also opening for Bruno Mars at Aloha Stadium with my Common Kings fam.  Reggae on the River 2015 with Baby Cham is another one that stands out.  The Summer 2019 Sublime Tour with Common Kings was amazing as well.


Q: Do you play/tour with any other bands/artists aside from common kings?

A: I was working with Shaggy as 2nd Keys and Ableton.  I work with Pressure, Jo Mersa Marley and some other Jamaican artists when I have the time.  I also have my own solo live dub set, Haze St. Dub, where I live dub my own productions and select productions from friends. 


Q: What got you involved in music in the first place?

A: I grew up playing classical piano and trombone, I didn’t play in a band though until college, shoutout to the Monjees, we were a punk/ska band in Miami,FL.  My first touring experience was playing trombone with Mikey Dread right after college.  For those who don’t know much about him, go read up on the man and his life and music.  He had the first reggae radio show in Jamaica, then became and artist and had a big hit in the UK, and ended up working with UB40 and The Clash, helping them bring an authentic Jamaican sound to their music.  He was a real pioneer in the industry that is highly underrated.  After those experiences I decided to pursue music full time.


Q: How do you feel about the internet in the music business?

A: It’s the whole business now.  It’s a blessing and curse.  It’s great to be able to learn about the business, see archives of live shows, get your music out for little to no money to anywhere on earth instantly.  It’s amazing for marketing opportunities, promotion, networking and so many other reasons.  All the tech is especially great during this quarantine time. I go live on Facebook or IG several times a week with live dub sets.  I’ve made musical and friendship connections with people all across the globe through the internet.  That being said, it is a little cold and not personal, and can never replace the feeling of holding a physical album, flipping through the liner notes and seeing a band live.  Touring and merch/branding have replaced album sales as the money making part of the industry, so it’s really just a shift in how we have to think.


Q: What new music do you like?

A: In all honesty, I don’t really listen to much music and when I do it’s generally old roots and dub.  I’ll check out some newer reggae releases to see what’s going in the industry, and if someone recommends something to me I’ll check it out. (thanks Malcolm for the Tame Impala recommendation)

My favorite band in Miami right now is Electric Kif @electrickif for jazz fusiony funky goodness.  There are so many good upcoming Cali Reggae acts, The Movement and Iya Terra stand out for me, I enjoy both of their sounds and live shows.  Chezidek’s new album with The Ligerians from France is excellent work as well.  Shameless self promotion: check out the new Marcus Gad and Blakkamoore records that just dropped, blessed to have been a part of those, released on Lustre Kings records.


Q: Who are some musical icons that influence you?

A: As I mentioned I’m really into Roots Reggae, and more influenced by musicians and bands than artists.  Sly and Robbie’s many incarnations, Roots Radics, Wailersr, Lloyd Parks & We the People band, Aswad, Steel Pulse, Morgan Heritage, the Firehouse crew, Dean Fraser, Twinkle Brothers.  I’m a live reggae show nerd and these are just some of the bands/ musicians that I watch every show of to learn more about the music.  Non reggae acts like Prince, James Brown, Earth Wind and Fire.  My favorite touring reggae act currently is Stephen Marley.  The band, sound, show production are all top notch.  Big up Ragga and the crew every time!  Favorite non reggae show is Nine Inch Nails, the production is always next level.

Q: Favorite venue to play and why?

A: It’s hard not to say Red Rocks, it’s just epic on so many levels.  Greek Theatre in Berkeley is another fav, it’s a historic venue in a really great town.


Q: How has this quarantine affected you/and the rest of the common kings team?

A: We are all taking this time working hard in the studio on various projects.  I’ve had some of the most productive weeks of my career recently, on a musical level, and am reallyy just giving thanks for life every day and to His Majesty for the strength.  Music never fades!


Q: What projects have you been working on (if any) during this off time?

A: Released a song on 4/20 with some really talented young artists from Jamaica: Ras-I, Blvk H3ro, Kali Green and 5 Star Celestial.

I am always working on music with my Zion I Kings Family, shoutout to Jah David, Andrew Moon Bain, and Tippy I.  I am also releasing my very first solo album in June, an instrumental dub album, which I created on the Shaggy/UB40 tour last fall.  Stay tuned to my social media for info on releases or to contact me about production or anything at all!  Tons of new music forwarding soon!


Q: How do you feel about this debate between “white boy Cali reggae” vs Jamaican roots reggae?

A: Check out Jamaican history, culture and music.  It’s amazing what that little island has been through and produced over the years.  Give respect to the creators, and support the talented young artists, not just the names everyone knows but the newer artists that are pushing but don’t get any help.  Remember reggae is a music born out of struggle and revolution.  Don’t let that energy get lost in the party and fun.  We must stand united against the system and burn out all wickedness, corruption and inequality.  If your music is helping that cause, it is so necessary in these times and we give thanks for that energy.  Haile Selassie said “Throughout history, it has been the inaction of those who could have acted; the indifference of those who should have known better; the silence of the voice of justice when it mattered most; that has made it possible for evil to triumphLet’s be that action and change in the world and use the music that so many people love to push a righteous agenda.  Ras Tafari luv!!!!

Check out Drew's Song that he produced with some amazing artists such as Ras-I, KALI GRN and more



Links

756 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page